Introducing the 2020 State Teachers of the Year

2020 cohort graphic

These educators teach in rural, urban and suburban schools, they teach across subject areas including STEM, special education, music and English Language Arts and they are all part of the 2020 cohort of State Teachers of the Year!

The Council of Chief State School Officers’ (CCSSO) National Teacher of the Year Program each year invites a cohort of educators from 50 states, DC, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. territories to participate in one-of-a-kind professional learning opportunities designed to hone communications skills, expand knowledge of education policy, and grow teaching and learning practices.

The goal of this programming is to elevate the voices of teachers and ensure that teachers are engaged in state and national policy conversations.

The 55 educators in the 2020 cohort not only demonstrate passion inside the classroom and embody what it means to be a teacher leader, they are focused on creating an equitable education for their students.

Of them, 24 teach high school, 15 teach middle school and 16 teach elementary school.

Want to learn more about these educators and what they teach? Please select their profile using our interactive map on the National Teacher of the Year page. You can also join the cohort on their journey by following the hashtag #NTOY20 on all social media platforms.

Without further ado, CCSSO is excited to present the 2020 State Teachers of the Year.

2020 cohort announcement

For questions about the National Teacher of the Year Program visit the program page on our website.

You May Also Be Interested In ...