The Program

Each year, the National Teacher of the Year Program brings together State Teachers of the Year from all 50 states, DC, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA), and four US territories to participate in one-of-a-kind professional learning opportunities designed to hone communications skills, expand knowledge of education policy, and grow teaching and learning practices. The goal of this programming is to elevate the voices of teachers and ensure that teachers are leaders in state and national policy conversations.   

Becoming the NTOY

Every State Teacher of the Year submits a written application containing biographical and professional information. A National Teacher of the Year (NTOY) is chosen from the State Teachers of the Year by a national selection committee representing the major national education organizations. Each spring, the NTOY is introduced to the American people by the U.S. president. During the official year of recognition, the NTOY is released from classroom duties to travel nationally and internationally as a spokesperson and advocate for the teaching profession. NTOYs speak at over 150 events each year before audiences ranging from several hundred to over 10,000and are often asked to sit on national and state commissions and policy advising bodies. 

Requesting the NTOY

To request the 2019 National Teacher of the Year for your event, use this form.

This form is for requests for Rodney Robinson, the 2019 National Teacher of the Year. To request the other National Teachers of the Year please email

All scheduling and logistical arrangements for the National Teacher are coordinated by CCSSO. Organizations or individuals that request the services of the National Teacher of the Year bear all expenses associated with that request. Honoraria for the National Teacher of the Year are accepted but not required.