North Dakota Superintendent Kirsten Baesler Assumes CCSSO Board Presidency

CCSSO logo

Austin, Texas (November 3, 2022) – The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced today that North Dakota Superintendent Kirsten Baesler will assume the presidency of its Board of Directors and several chiefs will begin new terms on its Board, decisions ratified by association membership at the Annual Policy Forum.

Secretary Johnny Key of Arkansas was chosen as president-elect, and CCSSO members elected Commissioner Katy Anthes of Colorado, Superintendent Christina Grant of the District of Columbia, Superintendent Eric Mackey of Alabama and Commissioner Margie Vandeven of Missouri and to new terms on the Board. They will join President Baesler and current board members to make up the 2022-2023 CCSSO Board of Directors.

South Carolina Superintendent Molly Spearman, who would have served as past president, will depart from the Board of Directors at the conclusion of this meeting, ahead of the end of her term as superintendent on January 11, 2023. Superintendent Sydnee Dickson of Utah was elected to serve as president pro tempore.

CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president and six directors elected by members from the CCSSO membership.

“I am humbled and honored to represent, as president, a great national organization that works every single day for the interests of students, their families, educators and schools,” Baesler said. “As a leader from a state that feeds and fuels the world, I look forward to the diverse education policy discussions of our state education chiefs, who represent school districts large and small across our nation. I promise to always keep this thought in mind – ‘Student academic achievement can soar when adult behavior is focused on student outcomes.’”

“I look forward to working with Superintendent Baesler and the Board of Directors to continue our supports to states as they lead COVID-19 pandemic recovery efforts and start new initiatives to modernize the education system. Our members are essential partners in this important work to offer all children an educational opportunity that allows them to succeed in college and careers,” CCSSO Chief Executive Officer Carissa Moffat Miller said. “I am particularly grateful for the long service of Superintendent Spearman to the students of South Carolina and chiefs across the country. We will miss her steady leadership and uncompromising commitment to students.”

CCSSO’s Board of Directors for the upcoming year is:

  • President: Superintendent Kirsten Baesler, North Dakota
  • President-Elect: Secretary Johnny Key, Arkansas
  • President Pro Tempore: Superintendent Sydnee Dickson, Utah
  • Board Member: Commissioner Katy Anthes, Colorado
  • Board Member: Secretary Dan French, Vermont
  • Board Member: Superintendent Christina Grant, District of Columbia
  • Board Member: Superintendent Eric Mackey, Alabama
  • Board Member: Commissioner Penny Schwinn, Tennessee
  • Board Member: Commissioner Margie Vandeven, Missouri


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...