Missouri Commissioner Margie Vandeven Assumes CCSSO Board Presidency

CCSSO logo

Nashville, Tenn. (November 14, 2023) – The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced today that Missouri Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven will assume the presidency of its Board of Directors. CCSSO also announced the new terms of the remaining officers and directors serving on the 2023-2024 Board of Directors, decisions ratified by association membership at the 2023 Annual Policy Forum.

Alabama Superintendent Eric Mackey was chosen as president-elect, and CCSSO members elected Superintendent Keith Hayashi of Hawai’i to a new term on the Board. The remaining directors were elected to new terms on the board. 

CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president and six directors elected by members from the CCSSO membership.

“It’s an honor to be elected to serve CCSSO at this important time in education,” Vandeven said. “I look forward to lifting up the important work of state education leaders nationwide as we work together to support students, educators and schools.”

“I look forward to working with Commissioner Vandeven and the new and returning members of the Board of Directors to support states in the urgent work of improving outcomes for all students. Chiefs are critical partners in leading the ongoing work of academic recovery and modernizing education systems,” CCSSO Chief Executive Officer Carissa Moffat Miller said. “I thank Utah Superintendent Sydnee Dickson as she ends her tenure on the Board of Directors for her service and am grateful to Superintendent Baesler and the other members of the Board for their guidance and support over the last year.”

CCSSO’s Board of Directors for the upcoming year is:

  • President: Commissioner Margie Vandeven, Missouri
  • President-Elect: Superintendent Eric Mackey, Alabama
  • Past President: Superintendent Kirsten Baesler, North Dakota
  • Board Member: Superintendent Christina Grant, District of Columbia
  • Board Member: Superintendent Keith Hayashi, Hawai’i
  • Board Member: Commissioner Angélica Infante-Green, Rhode Island
  • Board Member: Superintendent Chris Reykdal, Washington
  • Board Member: Superintendent Jill Underly, Wisconsin
  • Board Member: Superintendent Richard Woods, Georgia



The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...