CCSSO Releases Statement on Connecticut Chief

Image of CCSSO logo

Washington, D.C. (July 1, 2019) –– The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) Executive Director Carissa Moffat Miller the following statement in response to the departure of Connecticut Commissioner of Education Dianna Wentzell.

Dianna Wentzell is a committed educator and advocate for all children. As Connecticut’s Commissioner of Education, she focused on creating a more equitable education system in a number of ways, including making it a priority to increase the diversity of the educator workforce, leading efforts to reduce chronic absenteeism, and advocating for safer, more secure schools. I congratulate her on being named the Interim Director of Clinical Education at the University of Saint Joseph and look forward to her continued contributions to the area of teacher preparation and placement. CCSSO stands ready to support Interim Commissioner Desi Nesmith as he continues to ensure success for all Connecticut students.”  


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.


You May Also Be Interested In ...