CCSSO Releases Statement on Alaska Chief

CCSSO logo

Washington, D.C. (June 9, 2022) – Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) Chief Executive Officer Carissa Moffat Miller released the following statement on the departure of Alaska Department of Education and Early Development Michael Johnson.

Michael Johnson has been an outstanding leader for the students of Alaska, particularly those that live in the most remote areas of our country, across two administrations. He has worked to encourage the use of technology to provide more equitable educational opportunities for all students, even before the COVID-19 pandemic necessitated its widespread use. His unique perspective and ability to engage stakeholders at all levels of the education system has made him a valuable member of CCSSO’s Board of Directors for nearly three years. I wish him the best in his next steps.”


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...