CCSSO Announces Washington Chief Joins Board of Directors

CCSSO logo

Washington, D.C. (June 28, 2023) – The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) today announced Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction Chris Reykdal will join its Board of Directors.

“CCSSO plays an important role in supporting state education agencies and the policies guiding our nation’s schools, and it’s an honor to be asked to join this team of leaders,” Reykdal said. “I look forward to amplifying Washington state’s priority of lifting up public education with critical investments in our education professionals and continued innovations of our school system from early learning to college access for our high school students. Our nation’s public schools are the bedrock of our democracy and our economy, and I look forward to working with my CCSSO colleagues on a relentless defense of public education.”

CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The Board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president and six directors elected by members of the CCSSO membership. 

“Superintendent Reykdal has used his six and a half years in office to work for more equitable opportunities for all students, including advocating for investments for students with disabilities, expanding access to dual and tribal language learning and expanding graduation pathways,” said CCSSO CEO Carissa Moffat Miller. “He has worked at all levels of education, from the classroom and local school board to the state legislature and higher education before becoming chief, important experience that will help guide our work on CCSSO’s Board of Directors."

CCSSO’s 2022-2023 Board of Directors is:

  • President: Kirsten Baesler, North Dakota
  • President-Elect: Margie Vandeven, Missouri
  • President Pro Tempore: Sydnee Dickson, Utah
  • Board Member: Christina Grant, District of Columbia
  • Board Member: Angélica Infante-Green, Rhode Island
  • Board Member: Eric Mackey, Alabama
  • Board Member: Chris Reykdal, Washington
  • Board Member: Jill Underly, Wisconsin
  • Board Member: Richard Woods, Georgia


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...