CCSSO Announces Arkansas Chief Joins Board of Directors

CCSSO logo

Washington, D.C. (January 21, 2022) – The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced Arkansas Secretary of Education Johnny Key will join its Board of Directors.

CCSSO Board President Molly Spearman has appointed Key to fill the seat vacated by former Virginia Superintendent of Public Education James Lane.

“I am honored to represent the Natural State as a member of the CCSSO board of directors,” Key said. “The collaboration, insight and support I have received over the years from my CCSSO counterparts in other states has been invaluable, especially as we navigate these highly uncharted times in education. I look forward to providing a unique perspective on the board, as well as learning, growing, and partnering with my colleagues. Our collective goal is to provide the best education opportunities for all students, and by coming together to shape education on a national level, we will set our students up for success on the local level.”

“Secretary Key has served the students of Arkansas since 2015 with a focus on preparing them for college, career and community engagement. I look forward to him bringing his years of experience, particularly his long-time focus on literacy and the science of reading, to the CCSSO board,” said CCSSO Chief Executive Officer Carissa Moffat Miller.

CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The Board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president and six directors elected by members of the CCSSO membership. 

CCSSO’s 2021-2022 Board of Directors is:

  • President: Molly Spearman, South Carolina
  • President-Elect: Kirsten Baesler, North Dakota
  • Past President: Matthew Blomstedt, Nebraska
  • Board Member: Katy Anthes, Colorado
  • Board Member: Jon Fernandez, Guam
  • Board Member: Daniel French, Vermont
  • Board Member: Michael Johnson, Alaska
  • Board Member: Johnny Key, Arkansas
  • Board Member: Penny Schwinn, Tennessee


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...