CCSSO Announces 2018-19 Board of Directors

image of ccsso logo

Pennsylvania Chief Pedro Rivera Assumes Presidency

Long Beach, CA (November 14, 2018) –– The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) today announced its 2018-19 Board of Directors following elections at the 2018 Annual Policy Forum in Long Beach, CA.

Pedro Rivera, Secretary of Education in Pennsylvania, assumed the presidency and Jillian Balow, Superintendent of Public Instruction in Wyoming, was chosen as president-elect. 

CCSSO members also elected Utah Superintendent of Public Instruction Sydnee Dickson to serve on the Board of Directors. 
Superintendent Dickson will join President Rivera, President-Elect Balow, and current Board members to make up the 2018-19 CCSSO Board of Directors.

CCSSO's Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president, and six directors elected by the members from the CCSSO membership.

“The chiefs on CCSSO's board bring diverse state perspectives and a united commitment to the success of our nation’s students. These leaders will not only help CCSSO carry out its strategic plan with fidelity, but will ensure that the pursuit of equitable opportunities for students stays at the center. I look forward to working with them,” said Carissa Moffat Miller, executive director of CCSSO. 

“It is an honor to assume this leadership role in an organization committed to advancing public education in states across the nation and to ensuring every student graduates college, career and community ready,” Rivera said. “I look forward to continuing to elevate the issues central to CCSSO’s mission, including equity, building a strong educator pipeline, helping schools and their communities create the conditions for every student to thrive, and expanding the opportunities for every learner.”

The following is a list of CCSSO's 2018-19 Board of Directors:

  • President: Pedro Rivera, Pennsylvania
  • President-Elect: Jillian Balow, Wyoming
  • Past President: Carey M. Wright, Mississippi  
  • Board Member: Tony Smith, Illinois
  • Board Member: Brenda Cassellius, Minnesota
  • Board Member: Matthew Blomstedt, Nebraska
  • Board Member: Steve Canavero, Nevada
  • Board Member: Candice McQueen, Tennessee
  • Board member: Sydnee Dickson, Utah



The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.


You May Also Be Interested In ...