CCSSO Releases Statement on Arkansas Chief

CCSSO logo

Washington, D.C. (January 5, 2023) – Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) Chief Executive Officer Carissa Moffat Miller released the following statement on the departure of Arkansas Education Secretary Johnny Key.

“Secretary Johnny Key has served the students of Arkansas since 2015, with a strong focus on student-centered learning to ensure all students graduate prepared for college, careers and adult life. His longtime advocacy for evidence-backed literacy initiatives and the science of reading has been an example to chiefs across the country,” said CCSSO CEO Carissa Moffat Miller. “We appreciate his service on CCSSO’s Board of Directors, and I wish him the best in his next steps. We look forward to working with the next administration in Arkansas.”  


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

You May Also Be Interested In ...