Print this Page

Press Release

Friday, September 01, 2017

CCSSO Releases Statement on Approval of North Dakota’s ESSA Plan

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (September 1, 2017) - The U.S. Department of Education today announced it has approved the North Dakota's plan under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The Department has now approved plans for 12 states and the District of Columbia. 

Carissa Miller, deputy executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), released the following statement: 

"Congratulations to North Dakota on the approval of its state plan under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). North Dakota prioritized engaging stakeholders throughout the process to create a plan that best meets the needs of children across the state. This plan will help ensure all students receive an equitable education in North Dakota, and we appreciate the U.S. Department of Education's continued effort to approve ESSA plans so states can begin the important work of implementation." 


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.