Print this Page

Press Release

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

CCSSO Releases Statement on Approval of Illinois, Oregon, Tennessee and District of Columbia ESSA Plans

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (August 30, 2017) -- The U.S. Department of Education today announced that three states - Illinois, Oregon and Tennessee -- and the District of Columbia have received approval on their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The Department has now approved plans for nine states and the District of Columbia.

"Congratulations to the District of Columbia, Illinois, Oregon and Tennessee on the approval of their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act," said Chris Minnich, executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). "These states worked closely with their stakeholders to design plans that will deliver an equitable education to all of their students, and states are serious about continuing the conversation with stakeholders through implementation."

"I appreciate U.S. Education Secretary Betsy DeVos's action on these plans and look forward to federal approval on the remaining submissions."

These states join Connecticut, Louisiana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico and Delaware in receiving approval on their ESSA plans. 


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.