Print this Page

Press release

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

CCSSO Releases Statement on Approval of Connecticut, Louisiana ESSA Plans

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (August 15, 2017) - The U.S. Department of Education announced today that two states - Connecticut and Louisiana - have received approval on their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The Department has now approved plans for six states: Connecticut, Louisiana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico and Delaware. 

Carissa Miller, Deputy Executive Director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), released the following statement on the approval of the two ESSA plans today: 

"Congratulations to Connecticut and Louisiana on the approval of their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act. These plans are two more examples of how states are working closely with stakeholders to close the achievement gap and better serve all kids." 


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.